How to Enable Delete Confirmation Message in Windows 10

Windows 10 users are having issues that their files are deleted without any confirmation. The older version of Windows used to show a confirmation box before deleting the file. There is no need to worry because Windows 10 has disabled the feature by default. All you need to do is Enable Delete Confirmation Message.

Although, this is not a huge problem because the deleted files are stored in the recycle bin. But, some users have a habit of deleting files using Shift+Delete keys, which will permanently delete the files without storing them in the recycle bin. Also, when you delete large files, they are automatically deleted without going to the recycle bin. Therefore, you need to Enable Delete Confirmation Message in Windows 10 PC to prevent data loss in such cases.

Also, some users cannot find the recycle bin on the Desktop. You can check out this article on How to Hide/Show Recycle Bin on your Desktop.

Enable Delete Confirmation Message:

Here is a step-by-step solution on How to Enable Delete Confirmation Message in Windows 10 with pictures.

  • Here are a few sample folders
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • As you can see, When I selected the Sample Folder 1 and clicked on Delete, the folder is deleted without any warning or confirmation message.
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • The same happens when you press the Delete key on the keyboard.
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • So, go to your desktop and right-click on your Recycle Bin.
Recycle Bin
  • Next, click on Properties.
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • Then Enable the option “Display Delete Confirmation Dialog” and click on Apply then OK.
Display delete confirmation dialog
  • Now, as you see, when I delete the folder
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • A pop-up box appears asking whether you want to delete the folder. 
Enable Delete Confirmation Message
  • Similarly, you can uncheck the option to Disable Delete Confirmation Message.

We suggest you Enable Delete Confirmation Message to avoid unintended data loss. Also, share this article with your friends, and comment if you have any more queries.

1 thought on “How to Enable Delete Confirmation Message in Windows 10”

Leave a Comment